Uncategorized

Pizza and Plotting!

The last few weeks have been quiet on the blog front what with all the Christmas happening and me being a crazy person with no time to take photos. Now though, a sense of normality has returned, or as normal as things get in my brain anyway. That is to say I am back obsessing about my daily meals.

HIn a post move world my shopping habits have changed somewhat, I no longer plan entirely around the Aldi Super 6 as I have way more options available to me now. I have been quiet in posting recipes while I found my rhythm but I have more of a handle on what I’m doing and the way I’m shopping now and am ready to blog again!

What works for me now seems to be a mix, where we’ll do a big Aldi shop every second weekend, go to the butchers the next week and I pick up some bits as I go along in Lidl on the way to work. The crate and pannier bags on my high nelly are seeing some action let me tell ya! The planning usually starts in the butchers on Saturday morning and continues until breakfast on Sunday. Like I said, it’s an obsession.

Plotting happened over pizza and wine last night:

DSCN0243The chap provided the pizza, while I tripped him up with cookbooks and notebooks everywhere! I mean literally tripped him up, apparently 6 books beside the coffee table while somebody is carrying a board of pizza is a hazard. The pizza on the right was a particular triumph, I’m not entirely sure how he makes his dough but the method was inspired by Martha Stewart’s skillet pizza

Inspiration for the following week came from far and wide and I’ll be cooking internationally this week!DSCN0251

Having done a reconnaissance of what I have in the fridge and freezer already and having bought some lovely meat in Troy’s Butcher’s on Parnell Street, I came up with a list of dinners and lunches that will make me smile all week. Oh and I know it’s January but working in an office for the first time ever has made me rebel against abstaining. I’m sick of hearing about how everyone wants to lose weight post Christmas so I’m baking cake, so there! (Soon to follow: an entire February of low cal cooking, ahem)

If you’d like to join me on this week’s culinary adventures, go forth with the list!!DSCN0254

 

Here’s some recipes for you to enjoy with more to follow during the week:

Fajitas, Barbecued or Griddled?  – I’ll be making this with a large striploin instead of chicken

Tom Kerridge’s satay chicken  – I’ll be making this with bone in chicken breasts, halving the recipe quantities and substituting ginger for galangal because who ever has galangal?

Thomasina Myers’ Pea, potato and ginger curry – I’m going to serve this as a side with indian spiced breaded chicken I think. I’ll probably also end up substituting half the spices as is my want.

Leave a comment